Call for Papers

Download the call for papers COINs17

Submit your Paper (Here)

Selected papers will be published in the series Studies on Entrepreneurship, Structural Change and Industrial Dynamics (Download the Call for Papers)

Papers in the Healthcare Track will be considered for a special issue on Evidence-Based Management for Performance Improvement in Healthcare (Download the call for papers) (Editor's Home Page)


conference tickets: the conference takes place from thursday sept 14 through sunday sept 17. all prices are in USD. no VAT applicable. you can pay online with visa, masterCard, american express, jcb, and paypal express.

regular tickets include conference materials, lunches, reception party, banquet dinner, and coffee and refreshments.

daytrip on sept 17 is NOT included in the conference price.

a student id is required for verification at the registration booth

please choose the right ticket price from the dropdown menu below and then use the "buy now" button to pay.

No cancelation or refund possible after Sept 1, 2017. Paying with cash is not possible, you can register only via this website.

COINs registration

until aug 14th

250 usd
140 usd

after aug 14th

300 usd
180 usd


Keynote Speakers

Paul Ballew

Global Chief Data and Analytics Officer at the Ford Motor Company

Paul Ballew is the Global Chief Data and Analytics Officer at the Ford Motor Company. Appointed in December 2014, Ballew leads Ford’s global data and analytics teams including development of new capabilities supporting connectivity and smart mobility. Prior to joining Ford, he was Chief Data, Insight & Analytics Officer at Dun & Bradstreet. In this capacity he was responsible for the company’s global data and analytic activities along with the company’s strategic consulting practice.



Sarah Myers, MPH, RN

Improvement Director, ImproveCareNow, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Sarah Myers is Executive Improvement Director of the ImproveCareNow Learning Health System and lead Quality Improvement Consultant at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. ImproveCareNow is a 2016 Drucker Prize winning community that is working to transform the health, care and costs for all children and adolescents with Inflammatory Bowel Disease by building a sustainable collaborative chronic care network. Sarah develops and implements innovative strategies aimed at the meaningful engagement and distributed leadership of all partners in the community, including parents, patients, clinicians, and researchers. She also designs strategies that enable successful scale up, continuous learning, and improvement in patient outcomes. She has nearly two decades of experience leading local, regional, and national research and quality improvement efforts related to public health, chronic illness, and patient safety at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and RAND.


To be defined

coins social networking events

Sept 14th: Opening Reception at the Detroit Institute of Arts (Included)- Register

Sept 15th: Dinner and Tour of the Ford Rouge Factory (Included)- Register

Sept 17th: Private three-hour river cruise (Optional)- Register

Download Details


conference location:

Ford conference center
Dearborn, MI

The conference is hosted by:

suggested hotels

please arrange your booking directly with the hotel staff. We suggest either The Henry Hotel or The Edward Hotel.

The Henry
The Edward

Otherwise, search for hotels in the Greenfield Village area, which is close to the Conference Center.

Tourism Information

For information about tourism in Detroit please visit:

about us

collaborative innovation networks, or COINs, are cyberteams of self-motivated people with a collective vision, to innovatively collaborate by sharing ideas, information, and work enabled by technology.

COINs are powered by swarm creativity, wherein people work together in a structure that enables a fluid creation and exchange of ideas. Patterns of collaborative innovation frequently follow an identical path, from creator to COIN to collaborative learning network (CLN) to collaborative interest network (CIN).

program committee

Antonio Capodieci
university of salento, Italy

Jana Diesner
university of illinois urbana-champaign, usa

Kai Fischbach
university of bamberg, germany

Ionna Lykourentzou
centre de recherche public henri tudor, luxembourg

Yoshiaki Matsuzawa
shizuoka university, japan

Takis Metaxas
wellesley college, usa

Keiichi Nemoto
fuji xerox, japan

Detlef Schoder
cologne university, germany

Yang Song
jilin university, changchun, china

Tsvi Vinig
university of amsterdam, netherlands

steering committee

Davide Aloini (track chair)
university of pisa, italy

Andrea Fronzetti Colladon
tor vergata university, italy

Hauke Fuehres (track chair)
university of bamberg, germany

Cristobal Garcia
pontificia universidad católica de chile, chile

Peter Gloor
massachusetts institute of technology, usa

Julia Gluesing (local organizing chair)
wayne state university, usa

Francesca Grippa (program chair)
northeastern university, USA

Takashi Iba
keio university, japan

Casper Lassenius
aalto university, finland

Joao Leitao
University of Beira Interior, Portugal

Matthaeus Zylka
university of bamberg, germany

Christine Miller (track chair)
illinois institute of technology stuart school of business, usa

Maria Paasivaara (track chair)
aalto university, finland

Ken Riopelle (local organizing chair)
wayne state university, usa